1- Where do I buy my ticket to the Paralympics? 

No one buys a ticket to represent their country at the quadrennial showpiece. Athletes qualify to represent their country at major championships through competing at the qualifying events. If you have what it takes to be an ambassador of South Africa and Para-sport, then contact the sport convenor in the sport you are talented in, and find out about the next regional competition. 

2- Who do I contact to get involved in sport for the physically disabled?

The National Office or Provincial Offices. 

The contact details for the specific sport convenors are available on the sasapd.org.za website. Under the “About” tab, look for “Sport codes” and then navigate to the code that interests you. The details will be at the bottom of the page on the specific code. 

The National office is contactable on admin@sasapd.org.za. 

3-  What does SASAPD do?

SASAPD has established itself as the leading sport federation for people living with physical disabilities in South Africa.  

The Federation is a professional, well-structured organisation that deals with the sporting needs of the physically disabled and visually impaired athletes. The association offers development opportunities in the following sport codes : Athletics, Boccia, Goalball, VI Judo, Powerlifitng, Junior cycling, Football 7-a-side and Swimming.    

4- Who do I contact if I do not agree with a result or want to lodge a complaint? 

Please contact the national office at admin@sasapd.org.za

5- What disabilities does SASAPD cater for?

In disability sport, athletes are classified to ensure fair competition. The “Classification” tab on the website gives a brief sport specific breakdown.  

This is a brief description of the eligible impairment types:

1.     Impaired muscle power: Reduced force generated by muscles or muscle groups, such as muscles of one limb or the lower half of the body, as caused, for example, by spinal cord injuries, spina bifida or polio

2.     Impaired passive range of movement: Range of movement in one or more joints is reduced permanently, for example due to arthrogryposis. Hypermobility of joints, joint instability, and acute conditions, such as arthritis, are not considered eligible impairments.

3.     Limb deficiency: Total or partial absence of bones or joints as a consequence of trauma (e.g. car accident), illness (e.g. bone cancer) or congenital limb deficiency (e.g. dysmelia).

4.     Leg length difference: Bone shortening in one leg due to congenital deficiency or trauma.

5.     Short stature: Reduced standing height due to abnormal dimensions of bones of upper and lower limbs or trunk, for example due to achondroplasia or growth hormone dysfunction.

6.     Hypertonia: Abnormal increase in muscle tension and a reduced ability of a muscle to stretch, due to a neurological condition, such as cerebral palsy, brain injury or multiple sclerosis.

7.     Ataxia: Lack of co-ordination of muscle movements due to a neurological condition, such as cerebral palsy, brain injury or multiple sclerosis.

8.     Athetosis: Generally characterised by unbalanced, involuntary movements and a difficulty in maintaining a symmetrical posture, due to a neurological condition, such as cerebral palsy, brain injury or multiple sclerosis.

9.     Visual impairment: Vision is impacted by either an impairment of the eye structure, optical nerves or optical pathways, or the visual cortex.

6- What age groups does SASAPD caters for? 

The different sport codes under SASAPD, cater for juniors through to seniors. For example, Football 7-a-side, offers development for participants from 10 years old and competition from 14 years through to senior level.  Goalball caters for schools (15-19 years) juniors (15-20 years) and seniors (21 years +). Boccia at the National Championships is open for boys and girls from 12 years old however, in Boccia, players do not compete in age categories, just different classes. In Para-cycling a rider must be 12 years of age on the 31 December of the year of competition and then the age categories in the sport go up as follows: U/15, U/17, U/19, U/21 and OPEN. In VI Judo, children can start from the age of 6, but competitions are from age 9 upwards. Ages 9 – 12 years, they compete at their age and weight. Group 3 is ages 13 & 14 years old. Group 4 – Ages 15 – 17 years of age.  Group 5 – 18 to 20 years of age. Group 6 – Senior – Ages 21 upwards. Masters are from 30 years of age and older.  Men and women compete separately. In Para-athletics competition, the following age categories are available: U/14, U/17, U/20 and Open. Para Powerlifters compete in two age groups: Juniors and Seniors.  Junior powerlifters qualify from the day of their 14th birthday while para-powerlifters can compete in the senior category from 21 years of age. Swimming competition starts at the 8 years old till seniors which is 18 years and over. Swimmers compete in different age categories.

7- Are the codes offered, only for individual participation or team codes too? 

There is something for every taste, whether you enjoy competing as an individual or within a team. Please read more about the different sport under the “Sport codes” tab which you will find under the “About” section on this website.